National Aquatic Animals Of India

National Aquatic Animals Of India

National Aquatic Animals Of India




The South Asian river dolphin “Platanista gangetica” is an endangered freshwater or river dolphin found in the region of the Indian subcontinent.

The National Aquatic Animal Of India is Ganga Dolphin.


Ganges river dolphin is a very rare subspecies of a mammal endemic to the Ganges and Brahmaputra Rivers and their tributaries in India, Bangladesh, and Nepal.


Which is split into two subspecies, the Ganges river dolphin and the Indus river dolphin.

Their eyes lack a lens and therefore function solely as a means of detecting the direction of light.

The Ganges River dolphin lives in one of the world’s most densely populated areas and is threatened by the removal of river water and siltation arising from deforestation, pollution, and entanglement in fisheries nets.

They are locally known as susu, because of the noise it makes while breathing.


The main reasons for decline in population of the species are poaching and habitat degradation due to declining flow, heavy siltation, construction of barrages causing physical barrier for this migratory species.

National Aquatic Animals Of India


They are listed as endangered due to probable population decline.

The Ganges river dolphin is primarily found in the Ganges and Brahmaputra rivers and their tributaries in India, Bangladesh, and Nepal.

River Dolphins are solitary creatures and females tend to be larger than males.

The Ganga River Dolphin inhabits the Ganges-Brahmaputra river system primarily in India and Bangladesh.

The Indus river dolphin is now found only in the main channel of the Indus River in Pakistan and active channels connected to it between the Jinnah and Kotri barrages, and in the River Beas “a tributary of the Indus” in Punjab in India.


From the 1970s until 1998, they were regarded as separate species.

however, in 1998, their classification was changed from two separate species to subspecies of a single species.


However, more recent studies have recovered them as distinct species.

National Aquatic Animals Of India


The Ganges river dolphin has been recognized by the government of India as its National Aquatic Animal and is the official animal of the Indian city of Guwahati.

Dolphins tend to swim with one fin trailing along the substrate while rooting around with their beak to catch shrimp and fish.


The Indus river dolphin has been named as the National Mammal of Pakistan.

The fins are large and the dorsal fin is triangular and undeveloped.

Dolphins have a fairly thick body with light grey-brown skin often with a hue of pink.

River Dolphin is the National Aquatic Animal of India. The Ministry of Environment and Forests notified the Ganges River Dolphin as the National Aquatic Animal on 18th May 2010.

This mammal has a forehead that rises steeply and has very small eyes.

National Aquatic Animals Of India


This mammal is also said to represent the purity of the holy Ganga as it can only survive in pure and fresh water.

This species inhabits parts of the Ganges, Meghna and Brahmaputra rivers in India, Nepal, Bhutan and Bangladesh, and the Karnaphuli River in Bangladesh.

Ganga River Dolphin is found only in the Indian subcontinent and has two species the Ganges river dolphin and the Indus river dolphin.


River dolphin is a critically endangered species in India and therefore, has been included in the Schedule I for the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972.

Platanista gangetica has a long pointed snout and also have visible teeth in both the upper and lower jaws.

National Aquatic Animals Of India



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *